LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently April 19, 2024, 5:33 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: March 13, 2006, 12:18 pm 
I have been researching for the past 6-8 months of how to build a locost type car and have come to the conclusion that I’m going to try building a mid-engine version of a locost. Not just a DIY type mid-engine car like Meerkat by Alan Bertwistle or the La Bala by Steve Graber, but one based more on the locost chassis with some changes to the rear end of the car (a little longer). Sylva has already done this with their Mojo and R1ot and the end result seems to be very nice.

The donor car that I have chosen will be a first generation Dodge Neon. The reason I chose this car is because:
1) Lot’s of them around at a fairly decent cost (I have a daily driver that I paid $1300 for and may become my donor)
2) Engine has plenty of upgradeable speed parts to get it up to around 200 HP N/A and closer to 300 HP when turboed.
3) Very low engine height for a FWD car

I’m planning to use the front strut suspension and lower control arms in the rear (low cost) and creating a typical locost front end. I plan to put the fuel cell, radiator, battery in front to help balance out weight. The engine will be stripped of power steering and A/C.

I’m planning to build a ¼ scale wood model as a planning tool and will build a ¼ scale engine to help with designing fitment into the mid engine bay.

Any comments while I’m still in the planning phase?

Post subject:
PostPosted: March 13, 2006, 12:27 pm 
are you sure you want the large Mcpherson struts sticking up over your chassis?

Post subject:
PostPosted: March 13, 2006, 12:52 pm