LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently March 28, 2024, 9:29 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: September 1, 2016, 8:10 pm 

Hi all. I'm Robbie, a 26 year old engineer at a company manufacturing ultra-high vacuum systems. Previously, I worked as a manufacturing engineer at a company producing sheet metal components cut on CO2 and fiber optic lasers and turret punch presses, primarily programming each type of machine and performing part layout.

I'm obviously completely new to the forum, but I've for a few years now been interested in building my own locost. With my employer, I've been put in the position where I have a resource available to laser cut any size or dimension of tube, and I figured why not use the opportunity to see if the locost community would be interested as well. If this seems like a viable option, I would like to start a business producing these frames and possibly supplying off the shelf components as well.

What I'm proposing would be a fully cut and notched tubeset ready to be welded. I feel that the cutting of the tubes and checking/rechecking angles of cuts would really be my least favorite portion of the job. I have a full solidworks pro version at my disposal, and currently have a book frame modeled up ready to go. I don't see it being an issue getting other frame geometries produced as well, I just need to produce models.

I'm curious what others would pay for a tubeset, and how strong demand is for each configuration at this time? Let me know if you think this may be something you are interested in. :cheers:

Here is a demonstration of the laser's capabilities:

PostPosted: September 2, 2016, 12:00 am 
The voice of reason