LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently April 19, 2024, 3:03 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: July 23, 2015, 2:07 am 

I am not very good at working with aluminum. I know my limits and know my expectations. I really want my back panel to turn out nice!! :D

Does anyone know of a shop in SoCal that can do my rear panel, or is there any folks on the forum here in SoCal that could do this? I don't mind paying someone to help.... I just want to do this right!

Any advice is appreciated.

James Cuba
Turbo Rotary "Rotus Project"
Chino, Calif

PostPosted: July 28, 2015, 11:59 pm 

James, I'd encourage you to take a stab at it. I don't know how your fabrication has gone so far but working with aluminum is quite easy and the rear panel is easier to do than you might think.

It's only a few dollars worth of aluminum, try doing it, you might be surprised how well it goes. If it doesn't work out for you then I'd say look for help.

Ron

PostPosted: July 29, 2015, 12:16 am 

sevenesqueron wrote:
James, I'd encourage you to take a stab at it. I don't know how your fabrication has gone so far but working with aluminum is quite easy and the rear panel is easier to do than you might think.

It's only a few dollars worth of aluminum, try doing it, you might be surprised how well it goes. If it doesn't work out for you then I'd say look for help.

Ron

I will give it a try!!

When they talk about annealing, is that just lightly heating the area you want to bend? Do you have to bend while it is still hot or does it stay soft and hardens after you "work" it?

James Cuba
Chino, Calif

PostPosted: July 29, 2015, 1:43 am