LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently April 18, 2024, 1:53 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 373 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 25  Next
PostPosted: September 3, 2014, 10:10 pm 

Gents,
After much discussion with the wife, I have recieved the green light to proceed with building my homemade performance sports car. The primary goals are to keep the build cheap (and I mean cheap), reasonably light, and sturdy. My approach to car is to use ALOT of the components which I already have, and make purchases very sparingly.

In terms of my background, I work as a mechanical engineer at an engine performance and development company in Texas (doing engine testing, in-cylinder pressure data gathering/analysis, engine calibrations, etc...), 4 years experience in FSAE (for 3 cars), and 1 year of Mini Baja. ~4 years of Virginia region SCCA Autocross (DP, and SM class) and past Nissan mechanic, and long time bicycle mechanic (8 bike shops).

Sadly, this engineering desk job is deminishing my fabrication skills, and many moons have passed since I wrote codes for CNC machining for FSAE parts. And consequently, I'd like to keep this build caveman simple.

Goals:
1300 lbs
265ish hp
(4.9 lbs/hp)
$2,000 budget

I've decided to build a Middy Lotus 7-ish car powered by a 2L B18 engine, using a 1990 Acura Integra front subframe and suspension members, and a NA miata front subframe and front suspension members.

Weightwise, this may be challenging as:
front subframe: 16lbs
Pass side sub frame: 28.3lbs
rear subframe: 20lbs
driver side subframe: 31.7lbs

Subtotal: 96lbs