LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently March 29, 2024, 5:33 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: April 25, 2016, 8:29 pm 

Hi, my names Ryan and I'm a freshmen mechanical engineering student. My family's raced circle track "enduro" races for the past 8 years I've raced one year. But turning one way and spending money to fix a car up every year that get trashed by other racers really isn't my thing. I have access to a rotting out Chevy Silverado with a 5.3 vortec and two large machine shops with more tools than should be nessecary.
I went to college to pursue the formula SAE team but wasn't able to fit them in my first semester and wasn't able to just start with it this semester. I have been researching for around the past six months about the topic of a lm7 to corvette transaxle setup close to what BB69 did in his build thread (sorry I don't know how to link to his thread). I found rough dimensions of a lm7,4l60e, and corvette transaxle online after quite of but of research and made a very rough model in solidworks for figment. I recently also came across a suspension analyzing tool that had preset corvette suspension in it and have based my control arm points of that data as well for the hopes of grabbing them all off a single wrecked car.
This build is still in the dreaming stages as I have very limited income and don't quite trust myself enough to climb behind the wheel of the car I welded together myself but was looking for any helpful information as next steps down the road. Fuel cell placement, battery, radiators. I will attach pictures of the first frame version when I can put them into my computer. Willing to take any questions and criticism is very welcome, almost everybody has more experience than I do and I'm willing to learn

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

PostPosted: April 26, 2016, 8:27 am