LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently March 29, 2024, 12:58 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 249 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 17  Next
PostPosted: September 15, 2008, 1:09 am 

Hello All,

I thought I'd post up a build log of my project. I had one on Grassroots a while ago before their board switched, and haven't made any updates since then. I always meant to get one on here, so Now I will.

The car started out life as a 1978 MG Midget, and then got a rotary swap after it was in a flood. The suspension never quite worked right on it after the swap, and I never really got it fully sorted before I got married and moved to Wisconsin from Central Illinois, so the project stalled for 2 years or so. I'm a Mechanical Engineer fresh out of school and did the chassis/suspension/pretty much everything design on the U of I FSAE car my senior year and decided that when I got back to the MG using the stock chassis just wouldn't work. I finally got back to it last November, and took it completely appart, and hacked it all up. I cut the body off of the unibody, and disposed of the middle parts. My plan is to build a tube frame chassis and hand the origional body around it. The tube frame chassis is similarish to a locost frame, but honestly I've never even seen the book, the design is my own. I would say the car is being built with the locost ideology. The engine will be a Mazda 12a rotary, The suspension is from a 4 lug 2nd gen RX-7. Shocks front and rear are motorcycle sourced (R1 in the rear, CBR600f4i in the front), with pushrods front and rear. Front and rear suspension is double wishbone; I'll double check the numbers but from memory (120" VSAL, 3" RC, 4-8 degree adjustable Caster, 9 degree KPI front) (65" VSAL, 4" RC Rear). The Wheel base on the Car is 80" and the track width is going to be stock 2nd gen RX7. I'm keeping the Chassis within the bounds of the stock Midget body, a