LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently October 18, 2018, 1:59 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Alabama laws
PostPosted: March 6, 2007, 5:40 pm 
Offline
Automotive Encyclopedia
User avatar

Joined: December 22, 2006, 2:05 pm
Posts: 5723
I am moving to Alabama from Georgia so I did some investigating.

http://www.ador.state.al.us/motorvehicle/Title_FAQ.html

Vehicle Title FAQs
What year model motor vehicles does the State of Alabama title?
Every 1975 and subsequent year model motor vehicle which is domiciled in Alabama and is required to be registered in Alabama is required to have an Alabama certificate of title
Where do I apply for an Alabama certificate of title?
Applications for Alabama certificate of title must be made through a Designated Agent of the Alabama Department of Revenue. Designated Agents include: County License Plate Issuing Officials, all licensed Alabama motor vehicle dealers, and some financial institutions located in Alabama such as banks and credit unions. An application for replacement title can be submitted directly to the Alabama Department of Revenue by the recorded owner(s) or lienholder.
What does it cost to make application for Alabama certificate of title.
The title application fee is $15.00 for each application for Alabama certificate of title. Designated agents shall add the sum of $1.50 as the commission for each document processed. County License Plate Issuing Officials may also collect an additional $1.50 commission for each application processed to defray the cost of processing and mailing title applications. Certain counties may also have local fees which are due when an application for title is processed by that County License Plate Issuing Official. Please contact the County License Plate Issuing Official to determine if any local fees apply.
What documents will I need to make application for Alabama certificate of title?
An applicant for Alabama certificate of title must surrender the following documents to the designated agent in order to complete an application for Alabama certificate of title: (a) the outstanding manufacturer's certificate of origin or certificate of title that is either in the applicant's name or assigned to the applicant and any documents which support the transfer of the vehicle to the applicant; (b) if the vehicle is currently registered in a jurisdiction which does not title such vehicles, the applicant must surrender the outstanding registration documents which substantiate ownership of the vehicle. Additional documentation may be required if it cannot be determined whether the vehicle meets federal and state safety, emissions and anti-theft standards.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A designee of the Alabama Department of Revenue said the vehicle would show the model year as being the same year the vehicle is titled. Fortunately, Alabama does not have emission testing at this time.
I told the Alabama Department of Revenue that I would be building the frame from scratch and the major components would be from salvage vehicles. I was told that I needed the following:
1) Write a letter stating that I built this machine and frame myself and have it notarized.
2) Form INV 26-3
3) Bills of sale listing the donor VINs for the major assemblies.
4) $15 Money Order. (This is a Assembled Vehicle, not a Rebuilt Vehicle)
I was told that registration is not an issue once it is titled. One option of registering your 2007 car as a 1965 is listed below in Alabama Code, Section 40-12-290.
http://www.legislature.state.al.us/Code ... coatoc.htm
AL Dept. of Revenue titling info: 334-242 3012.
No one I spoke with could tell me exactly what safety criteria the Inspectors are looking for. The inspectors are State Patrol or the actual Designee of the Alabama Department of Revenue. The inspection is performed at the location of your choosing. Alabama does not have safety inspections however, the inspector told me the car must be complete.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Section 40-12-290
Registration of vintage vehicle.
(a) Subject to the requirements of subsections (b), (c), (d) and (e), the owner of a motor vehicle which is herein defined as a "vintage vehicle", upon application to the judge of probate or commissioner of licenses on special application forms prescribed by the Commissioner of Revenue and the payment of a registration fee of ten dollars ($10), may register the vehicle as a "vintage vehicle" and procure therefor permanent license plates to be issued and displayed on the vehicle.
(b) Beginning October 1, 1996, the owner of a "vintage vehicle" which is owned and operated primarily as a collector's item may, upon satisfying the requirements of this subsection, register the vehicle as a "vintage vehicle." The owner shall apply to the judge of probate or county official authorized and required by law to issue license plates. The owner shall pay a registration fee of ten dollars ($10). Upon satisfying these requirements, permanent "vintage vehicle" license plates shall be issued and displayed on the vehicle.
(c)(1) The Commissioner of Revenue may make such reasonable rules and regulations as may be necessary to administer the provisions of this division.
(2) A vehicle using or displaying a "vintage vehicle" plate issued pursuant to this section shall not be used as a commercial vehicle, for transporting passengers or property, or for use as a service vehicle.
(3) "Vintage vehicle" license plates shall remain with the vehicle when sold or otherwise disposed of, and the new owner shall transfer the registration into his or her name in accordance with the provisions of Sections 40-12-260 and 40-12-261, if the vehicle will be operated in accordance with this section, and, if not, standard license plates shall be obtained.
(4) The owner of a vehicle displaying an antique license plate issued prior to October 1, 1996, if the vehicle is to be operated in accordance with the provisions of this section, shall surrender the license plate and obtain the vintage vehicle license plate above authorized without payment.
(d) For the purpose of this section, a "vintage vehicle" is: (i) a private passenger automobile, truck or truck tractor which weighs not more than 26,000 pounds gross weight, motorcycle, or fire truck, (ii) over 30 years old, (iii) operated as a collector's item, including participation in club activities, exhibitions, tours, parades, and not used for general transportation purposes, (iv) a vehicle having the original or substantially similar vehicle body, chassis, engine, and transmission as designated for that make, model, year, and age vehicle.
(e)(1) Effective October 1, 1997, it shall be unlawful for any person to operate, on the public highways of this state, a vehicle based in this state and displaying a vintage vehicle license plate not in compliance with subsections (b), (c), and (d). Any antique license plate or tag issued prior to October 1, 1996, shall become invalid on October 1, 1997.
(2) Any person violating this section shall, upon conviction, pay a fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100), shall forfeit the vintage vehicle registration and plates issued to the owner for the respective vehicle, shall be liable for the regular registration fee and taxes for the vehicle, and shall be barred from applying for or holding a vintage vehicle registration for the respective vehicle for three years from the date of the violation. This penalty shall be in lieu of any other penalty specified in this chapter for this offense.

_________________
MV8

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Om3C1Ep ... D3E18BB447


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 8, 2007, 11:29 am 
Offline
Automotive Encyclopedia
User avatar

Joined: December 22, 2006, 2:05 pm
Posts: 5723
http://www.legislature.state.al.us/Code ... coatoc.htm

A few highlights of Article 9, CHAPTER 5 of Title 32, Equipment
Reflectors, 2 red, 20-60", can be incorp into taillamps(prismatic material)
Tail Lamps, at least 1, 20-60” from ground.
Tag light, white
Head lights, min 2, max 4, one on each side, 24-54” from ground to lamp center.
Low beam illuminates objects at least 100’ away.
High beam illuminates objects at least 350’ away.
Side markers visible after dusk at 200’.
Fog lights, max 2, 12-30”, illuminates no higher than 4” below light center height at 25’.
Driving light, max 1, 16-42”,
Windshield, approved type
Wiper and defrost of sufficient coverage to clear.
Rear view mirror, 1 required, placed to display at least 200’ behind.
High beam indicator required

Edited to include chapter, 08/24/2008.

_________________
MV8

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Om3C1Ep ... D3E18BB447


Last edited by Miatav8,MstrASE,A&P,F on August 24, 2008, 8:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: April 11, 2007, 11:54 am 
Offline

Joined: February 20, 2007, 5:56 pm
Posts: 54
Location: Armpit Alabama
That helps me a bundle.

Don't be fooled by teh vintage vehicle tag. From what I remember aboutthe changes they have regs that keep you from using the vehicle for transportation to work more than a day or two a week.....

Now how the devil am I supposed to get the tail lights up 20" from the ground? HAHAHAHA

Doc

_________________
Spectacles,testicles, wallet and watch.....yep I am ready to go.

Burt Munro


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: April 12, 2007, 6:17 pm 
Offline
Automotive Encyclopedia
User avatar

Joined: December 22, 2006, 2:05 pm
Posts: 5723
Doc wrote:
Now how the devil am I supposed to get the tail lights up 20" from the ground? HAHAHAHA

Doc


Tail fins! Seriously though, it is between 20" and 60" to the light. I'm thinking tail lights in the back of the head rest fairings. I don't remember seeing anything that said the tail lights need to be behind the wheels. Be sure to read the Title/Article.

_________________
MV8

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Om3C1Ep ... D3E18BB447


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: April 13, 2007, 12:12 am 
Offline

Joined: August 15, 2005, 10:13 pm
Posts: 7048
Location: Charleston, WV
You could always use LED strips on the roll bar braces.

_________________
He is a wise man who does not grieve for the things which he has not, but rejoices for those which he has.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: April 13, 2007, 2:26 am 
They prolly have something about lighting having to be DOT approved.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: April 13, 2007, 7:31 am 
Offline
Automotive Encyclopedia
User avatar

Joined: December 22, 2006, 2:05 pm
Posts: 5723
Leds do not normally have prismatic material in them to act as reflectors so separate reflectors would be required. Leds in addition to DOT lights should not be an issue.

The big rig round led lights have the prismatic material and are cheap. I've noticed the incandescents are slowly being phased out as the bulbs burn out, with the trucks having a few incandescents here and there.

You can make your own tail lights with translucent red acrylic from a sign store and prismatic from a commercial floursecent light lense.

Make a wood buck to the shape you want the light lense to be, then stick it in the oven at a temp hot enough to allow it to conform to the buck but not hot enough to damage the plastic. Don't touch it until it is completely cool.

_________________
MV8

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Om3C1Ep ... D3E18BB447


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: August 24, 2008, 2:17 am 
Offline

Joined: March 18, 2008, 10:02 am
Posts: 41
Good info, thanks

I see the requirements for a windshield. Does that mean a windshield is required, or does it mean if you DO have a windshield that it must be approved.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: August 24, 2008, 8:19 am 
Offline
Automotive Encyclopedia
User avatar

Joined: December 22, 2006, 2:05 pm
Posts: 5723
I added the chapter in the previous post so the info is easier to find.

I am not aware of anything in the State Code that requires the vehicle to be equipped with a windshield. If it is equipped, it must be an approved type (laminated) and have a wiper system that works and covers the required amount of glass. The best thing to do is send a letter "Return Receipt", being specific as possible since you need a specific answer. If they change their mind later, you have the response saying it is not required. Having a letter saying it is okay means a great deal, even if the letter is wrong.

_________________
MV8

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Om3C1Ep ... D3E18BB447


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: August 24, 2008, 8:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: March 18, 2008, 10:02 am
Posts: 41
Miatav8,MstrASE,A&P,F wrote:
I added the chapter in the previous post so the info is easier to find.

I am not aware of anything in the State Code that requires the vehicle to be equipped with a windshield. If it is equipped, it must be an approved type (laminated) and have a wiper system that works and covers the required amount of glass. The best thing to do is send a letter "Return Receipt", being specific as possible since you need a specific answer. If they change their mind later, you have the response saying it is not required. Having a letter saying it is okay means a great deal, even if the letter is wrong.


Nice.

I was just curious if a windshield is required or not. It's somewhat vague, as some of it clearly says it is required, while it only states what is required of other things.

Will definitely send them a letter asking for more specifics. I really hope windshields aren't required. I'm sure I'll get a variety of answers like I have in dealing with titling problems in the past...

Did you end up moving to Alabama? I see your location still shows Georgia. I lived in Columbus, GA for most of my life then moved to the Huntsville, AL area a few years back. I like it a bit more here, even though I do wish I stayed in Georgia for the free tuition. Georgia just feels "stricter."


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Alabama laws
PostPosted: May 16, 2009, 2:08 am 
Offline

Joined: May 16, 2009, 12:03 am
Posts: 1
I live up near Huntsville and had had a couple of rails that did not have wind shields. They were titled and tagged before I bought them though.

Where are you guys from? I may need to call on some expertise when I get to my suspension lol.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Alabama laws
PostPosted: December 4, 2009, 10:24 am 
Offline

Joined: November 20, 2008, 11:16 am
Posts: 76
Location: Huntsville, AL
I live in HSV too. I chose to not go with the vintage plates on my Mini - too many restrictions and the regular plates are cheap. I had vintage plates in Virginia, but the restrictions were not as severe and they got you out of yearly inspections.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Alabama laws
PostPosted: December 4, 2009, 10:59 am 
Offline
Automotive Encyclopedia
User avatar

Joined: December 22, 2006, 2:05 pm
Posts: 5723
I stay in ATL now but I have property in both States. Georgia is more strict.

_________________
MV8

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Om3C1Ep ... D3E18BB447


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Alabama laws
PostPosted: April 21, 2012, 11:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 5, 2009, 10:28 pm
Posts: 28
Alright, I got it legal.

I had Alabama assign me a VIN number and it is Titled as a 2012 Assembled 64 Lotus.

I turned in the required paperwork and a $15.00 cashiers check to The Alabama Department of Revenue Investigations Division in Montgomery. They received the paperwork on 3/26 and the inspector riveted my VIN plate on the car, at my house, on 4/20. Then I took the form he gave me to the Tag office, paid the taxes and got my plates. Since it is a 2012, the standard plates were all that were available to me.

They required the items just as our local Research Guru MV8 had already posted in the first post.

The INV (or MVT) 26-3 form - must be notarized.

Docs for motor and transmission - I sent bill of sale and copy of the Miata Title I had (never titled the Miata in my name) - these were not notarized

Receipts for all major components purchased and used in assembly.

My Notarized Builders Affidavit - My personal letter stating the "I" built the frame from new raw steel components in the likeness of a 1964 Lotus Seven, using the drive line from the Miata. (included VIN of Miata parts used)


It was a rather painless process all told, just had no idea when the inspector would actually call or come by. That was the only tough part. The car has no hood yet, no windshield. The inspector and I chatted about the car a bit, and he never actually checked function of anything. I have since put nearly 300 miles on it just grinning and giving the neighbors that have watched me build it rides. It handles better than expected, and 147 horses are more than enough to learn how to handle this thing with.

This has to be one of the easiest States to Title a home built car in.

If anyone needs any further info, let me know.

Thanks,

Steve


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Alabama laws
PostPosted: April 22, 2012, 9:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: July 17, 2008, 9:11 am
Posts: 4729
Location: West Chicago,IL
Congratulations Steve! Glad you got thru the red tape part of the build! :cheers:

_________________
Chuck.

“Any suspension will work if you don’t let it.” - Colin Chapman

Visit my active Cushman Truckster resurrection log: over HERE
or my archival Locost build log: over HERE


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
POWERED_BY