LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently March 29, 2024, 2:12 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: September 24, 2008, 12:10 am 

Alright so I know this has been discussed in several other threads but I still don't know what to choose.

I am building a car for track day events and occasional autox use. I have no track experience in a car and the car I'm building will most likely be the fastest thing I have ever driven.

I'm using a hayabusa engine so I'm looking at a car with 175 or so hp with a very low weight 1100 lbs or so and significant rear weight bias. I'd like to use 13inch wheels to keep cost down and keep the ride height low with my chosen uprights and without having to mount my lower control are halfway up the chassis.

So to the questions

1. Is staggering the tires a good idea? I'm not really sure if this is a good idea right off the bat. Should I start with identical tires front and rear and only stagger them if some handling issue dictates it?

2. Should I start with Dot tires at first to limit grip and increase tire life while sorting the car out? If I go to a dot tire I kind of get stuck with about 7 rims all around or skinner. Is a 225 going to be too narrow in the rear? Will I spin every tire I touch the gas? If I go with slicks i can go as narrow or as wide as i want as there are plenty of options in 13" sizes.

3. Anyone with just a straight up suggestion as to what they think I should run as far as wheels and tire size.

I know the answer to these question will be somewhat subjective but I really would like to hear the opinions of those who have spent more time at the track than I. Up to this point I have just been guessing.

Thanks

Post subject:
PostPosted: September 24, 2008, 12:20 am