LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently March 29, 2024, 2:21 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Buying a welder
PostPosted: January 25, 2016, 2:00 am 

I suppose a little introduction first:
I'm originally from southeast Pa, but I'm active duty navy and am currently living in San Diego.
I've been a fan of these forums for a few years now and got the book ~2 years ago.
I started reading everything I could to gather information
(here included, thank you everyone who knows WAY more than I do)
and now that I finally have a garage big enough to house a project, here I am.
On to the question.
So I'm starting the collection of tools, and later pieces, to start on a build.
I seem to be a bit confused as to which welder to get.
I see the term MIG thrown around a lot and I used to work in a factory with welders so I'm mildly familiar with the concept.
Now I'm reading about flux core wire on MIG machines and that's a bit off since there isn't any gas involved it really should be just M welding.
I watched the requisite youtube videos and went on forums and miller's website and it all seems to say the same basic thing,
flux core can make a strong weld, it's just messy.
That being said, I know there are restrictions in different race organizations on the type of welding used for things like roll cages and such.
I know the strength of the weld comes from penetration, the skill of the person using it and the wire/filler material matching properly with the metal being welded.
So are the dirty area and excess smoke the only downsides to flux core?
Can it be used to weld the frame?
Can I get a good enough machine, gas or flux, to weld while only using 115V outlets?

Post subject: Re: Buying a welder
PostPosted: January 25, 2016, 9:00 am 

115v Yes, I believe you can weld up to 3/16 with that. The thickest material you will likely weld for a locost is 1/8"

Flux core No - Ick

PostPosted: January 25, 2016, 9:20 am