LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently March 19, 2024, 2:32 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Diagonal bracing
PostPosted: March 16, 2018, 1:19 pm 

This is my first post here, after long months of working on my car design, and after weeks of ploughing delightedly through so many of the valuable contributions on this site, so I would like to ask a (relatively) simple question:
Having designed a chassis where all the stress points are joined together (as simply as possible - this is my first attempt) I have a design where all the 'spaces' are 4-sided. Do I now just add diagonals, presumably across the shortest diagonal, so that all the spaces are 3-sided...?
Is it really as simple as this or is there something important I am missing...?

Many thanks for any simple tips you can pass on - MangPong.

Post subject: Re: Diagonal bracing
PostPosted: March 16, 2018, 2:18 pm 

MangPong wrote:
Do I now just add diagonals, presumably across the shortest diagonal, so that all the spaces are 3-sided...?
The (relatively) simple two-part answer to your two-part question is Yes and Maybe. It's an essential step for chassis of this nature, but may not be everything you're missing. After your next post, you can attach pictures.

PostPosted: March 16, 2018, 3:46 pm 

MangPong wrote:
This is my first post here, after long months of working on my car design, and after weeks of ploughing delightedly through so many of the valuable contributions on this site, so I would like to ask a (relatively) simple question:
Having designed a chassis where all the stress points are joined together (as simply as possible - this is my first attempt) I have a design where all the 'spaces' are 4-sided. Do I now just add diagonals, presumably across the shortest diagonal, so that all the spaces are 3-sided...?

Many thanks for any simple tips you can pass on - MangPong.

Welcome Mang,