LocostUSA.com
http://locostusa.com/forums/

Do you have a boot floor?
http://locostusa.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=20413
Page 1 of 1

Author:  FastG [ December 19, 2019, 10:33 am ]
Post subject:  Do you have a boot floor?

My car currently has a floor underneath the gas tank. My current gas tank is a top feeder, and the connection are from the top. I am swapping to a bottom feeder were all the connections are on the bottom of the tank. With all the connection on the bottom a floor in the boot makes it more difficult so I was wondering how many people install a floor?

Thanks

Graham

Author:  horchoha [ December 19, 2019, 11:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Do you have a boot floor?

Graham
Are you saying you have a floor under your gas tank?
In all 3 I've built there's no floor under the gas tank.
But I do have floors in the boot (trunk), which is above the gas tank.

Author:  FastG [ December 19, 2019, 12:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Do you have a boot floor?

Yes, I have floor under the gas tank, I can see it's maybe to protect the Aluminum gas tank from impact.

Graham

Author:  Miatav8,MstrASE,A&P,F [ December 19, 2019, 6:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Do you have a boot floor?

No need for a floor under the tank. How about a couple pics of the tank and space with the tank out?

Author:  FastG [ December 19, 2019, 9:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Do you have a boot floor?

We quickly re-installed the gas tank just so I could drive the car back on the trailer, knowing I was going to re-engineer the fuel system so I did not install the floor, but I have attached a picture.

Graham

Attachments:
IMG_20191219_201821.jpg
IMG_20191219_201821.jpg [ 779.39 KiB | Viewed 589 times ]

Author:  FastG [ December 23, 2019, 1:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Do you have a boot floor?

Boot floor in place

Graham

Attachments:
IMG_20191221_103914.jpg
IMG_20191221_103914.jpg [ 828.4 KiB | Viewed 443 times ]

Author:  Miatav8,MstrASE,A&P,F [ December 23, 2019, 6:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Do you have a boot floor?

Found your tank:
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=16445&p=184242&hilit=graham#p184242

If you fab mounts, no need for the tray except a little aero and if you want to catch mud/salt off the tires.

Not much room under the tank for fittings that could easily be ripped off. I guess you meant on the lower leading edge? Are you switching tanks because you intend to run an external pump and don't want to lift fuel to reach it?

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/