LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently March 28, 2024, 4:44 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: August 26, 2020, 3:26 pm 

After reading so many of the build threads, my time has finally come.

I've been fascinated by Locosts for a long time, if I remember correctly, due to an article in Grassroots Motorsports. My first mention of wanting to build one that I could find was in a chat with a friend on June 1st, 2009 when I mentioned reading build threads. Yes, I've been lurking on this site for over a decade dreaming of my own build.

I'm a computer programmer and a collector of hobbies. I typically dive in head-first to new hobbies, then move on after a few months, but that has slowed down after becoming a dad (to twins no-less). While my hobby time has diminished, the kids are getting a little older that they might be able to putter around the garage without making too much of a mess in the coming years and I want them to be part of the build process.

The plan for the car is to build a McSorley +400 frame and use donor parts from my 1992 S-10 truck (4.3L V6). I want it to mainly be a cruising car capable of longer drives wile also being able to hit a track or two. I loved traveling to car shows in my early and mid-20's and think it would be fun to spend some future weekends doing so by taking one of the kids for a day in the car we built together, then hit a track the next day for some spirited driving.

I'm currently a little over a month into my build, but will try to get caught up and keep this thread up to date with my successes, failures, and pounding of my head against the wall. I have been posting pictures on Instagram (@DrivenToBuild) but look forward to the people I meet and encouragement (hopefully) I'll get from this forum.

Attachment:
IMG_20200626_173907096.jpg

Attachment:
IMG_20170101_220509114_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg