LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently May 3, 2024, 9:21 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: May 24, 2011, 10:26 pm 

Hello everyone!

Im a shop teacher at a local high school in NY and we have embarked on a BEC Locust build.
We have currently completed most of a basic frame and have completed the rear suspension architecture. (Waiting for tophats to mount struts).
Rear diff is currently mounted.

We have full automotive and metal shops on premises.

I have two issues that I need help with.

Ive decided to build a starter style electric reverse, but I havent found any data on ring gears and starters.
I basically need a ring gear about 6-7" in diameter and a corresponding starter. I would prefer to use as strong a starter as possible for obvious reasons, but need a ring gear to match. I even have several starters laying around the shop, but cannot source smaller ring gears with the same pitches... Anyone have a source for properly sized ring gears or data on matching starters/ring gears?

Other issue - I have decided to machine an adapter to mate the original sprocket to the driveshaft, but Im just a little worried about welding to a section of the driveshaft. It is a Subaru driveshaft that has a sliding joint as well as two universals (one by the motor, and one by the diff). The sliding joint is mid shaft. Machining the the driveshaft has proven very difficult and Im worried I wont be able to weld a flange to the driveshaft straight. Has anyone attempted this on their own?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Danny

PostPosted: May 24, 2011, 11:49 pm 

Welcome aboard Danny.. I'm an English/History teacher.. wanna trade?!? Sorry I don't have a starter/ring gear for you...

...I basically need a ring gear about 6-7" in diameter and a corresponding starter...