LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently March 29, 2024, 4:51 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 94 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
 Post subject: Violentblue's +4 build
PostPosted: October 20, 2006, 5:39 pm 
Databases fear me

well folks, i'm about to begin.
i've been working towards this for a couple years now and tomorow I will begin.

Picked up a fresh bottle of argon/co2 and 144 ft of 1x1 16 ga tubing today.
tomorow I build my frame table and begin layout.

here's the run down.

McSorley +4 chassis, 1x1 16ga tubing with ausi stiffening mods.

thunderbird IRS rear suspension with 8.8 posi diff (got it)

zetec on bike carbs (looking still)

all aluminum bodywork

Steve

-edit-

chassis is coming along, I've jigged it all up on my rotary frame table
ImageImage
this is what I was talking about in my other posts,
the table itself is 2 sheets of 3/4" mdf with a 2x4 grid sandwiched inbetween, it is incredibly strong, flat and heavy, and even hanging hanging by the ends there is no measurable deflection.

blocking id 1x2 mdf which is cut in approx 4-6" lengths and attached to the table with drywall screws.

it is so tight that I can flip the entire frame upside down on the table and it doesn't fall out.

this assembly is wonderfull for welding on, once you have the initial tack welds on and measure everything for square, turn it to a better angle for adding additional tacks, or finishing the weld.

PS if there is anyone in Alberta wanting to do a +4 drop me a line I'll loan you the table with all the jigging in place.

oh ya one more feature, since its on a rotissierre, you have two working surfaces, I have the jigging for the top of the chassis on one side, and the bottom on the other, I've kept the bottom portion jigged up while building the rest.

-new post-

I have a friend that is very skilled with the english wheel and general metal pounding.