LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently December 8, 2022, 10:06 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Trouble Bleeding Brakes
PostPosted: March 23, 2015, 4:10 pm 

I just replaced the leaking old cast iron tandem style master cylinder in my Locost with a brand new one of similar construction. Bleeding the master cylinder seemed to go well (tubes looped back into the reservoirs method.) I hooked up the lines and started with bleeding the front disk calipers - no problems. Went to bleed the rear drums and NOTHING came out. No air, no fluid, nothing. The pedal would firm up at normal braking position and still nothing to the bleeder.

What's up with that? I've been working on my own brakes for 45 years and never saw this before. I could really use some advice on where to go from here.

The system is all OEM (Ford Pinto) from the calipers and wheel cylinders up through the distribution/proportioning block and up to the master cylinder. I did change to a slightly different master, a Speedway unit, but it is supposed to be a Ford style for disc front & drum rear brakes.

The distribution block has a sliding shaft that cuts off the front or back if a leak is detected, but that is supposed to reset itself during bleeding. The only thing I can think is that either the MC is defective or that internal valve is stuck in the "cut off the rear" position. I've been thinking of ways to unstick it (hit it with a vibrating engraver or tap it with a hammer?) but I don't know if that is even the problem - it's just all I can think of that could be causing this. I could bite the bullet and pull it out to clean and check it, but what a nuisance.

Anyone have experience with this kind of problem? Any solutions or suggestions?

Thanks in advance,

John

PostPosted: March 23, 2015, 4:51 pm 

John,